Lego Star Wars The Complete Saga (Wii) - Review

Lego Star Wars The Complete Saga (Wii)
Ages: Everyone 10+

I have reviewed Lego Star Wars II The Original Trilogy and what I said about that game still applies here, “Every once in a while a great thing appears – Velcro, sliced bread, Lego Star Wars II The Original Trilogy. With the Complete Saga you have both Lego Star War games combined, which includes six Episodes, based on all six movies. The game feels much as it did on the PS2. with the exception of the Wii controller which gives it a new feel.

The A on the Remote is the heavy use button – jumping, defending and attacking. On the Nunchuk C gets you on and off vehicles and creatures and Z activates things like thermal detonators, access panels, levers, travel chutes and special abilities. The motions on the remote, moving up, down or side-to-side perform Jedi force abilities, slamming, lunging, grapple, even moving objects. To build objects, remember this is Lego, both the Nunchuk and Remote are moved back and forth. The lightsaber effects provide sound and vibration. With a second remote, you can play with a friend – or enemy.

For my readers edification – I have summarised the six different episodes – to refresh your memories and to let you know what an epic journey you will be undertaking. Sheesh – there are over 120 characters.

First Game - Lego Star Wars - The Prequel trilogy

  1. Phantom Menace
    Obi-Wan Kenobi meets young Anakin.
    Introduce characters - Qui-Gon, Queen Padme Amidala, Chancellor Palpatine.

  2. Attack of the Clones
    Count Dooku, Sith Lord Darth Sidious start Clone Wars.
    Anakin and Padme are wed. Anakin loses his right arm dueling Count Dooku.

  3. Revenge of the Sith
    Anakin, influenced by Palpatine (none other than Darth Sidious) moves to the dark side and becomes Sith Lord Darth Vader.
    Obi Wan turns Darth Vader into a paraplegic.
    Palpatine revives him with a black body life support suit.
    Padme dies giving birth to twins, Leia and Luke.
Second Game - Lego Star Wars II – The Original Trilogy - Original trilogy refers to the first three movies issued.
  1. A New Hope
    Luke Skywalker makes his appearance as does Princess Leia, Chewbacca, and Han Solo.
    They fight against the Galactic Empire and destroy the Death Star.
    Obi Wan dies fighting Darth Vader.

  2. The Empire Strikes Back
    Battles between the Imperial Force and the Rebels - assault walkers and flyingspeeders.
    Rebels lose. Luke goes to Dagoba to learn the force from Yoda.
    Hans is flashfrozen.
    Luke loses his dueling hand in a fight with Darth Vader who tell him he is his father.

  3. Return of the Jedi
    Luke, with an artificial hand, and Leia go to Tatooine to rescue Han Solo from Jabba the Hut.
    A bigger and better Death Star is in the making.
    Yoda dies telling Luke he must confront his father.
    Luke battles his father slicing off Vader’s right hand but will not kill him.
    Palpatine attempts to kill Luke.
    Darth Vader saves his son, killing Palpatine but is fatally injured.
    The second Death Star is destroyed and the Rebels in Endor with the Ewoks celebrate their victory over the Empire.

Fun Factor: One of the best
Female Factor: Hooray for Princess Liea
Player Friendly: You can save in the middle of a level by going to the Cantina

Reviewed by: Editor - 11/07

  • Lego Star Wars The Complete Saga (Wii)
  • © Lucasarts
  • Platform(s): Wii
  • To Order: WII $49.99